Choc chip rice muffins

choc chip rice muffins_captioned.jpg

Goodbye nutritionally dead white flour, hello healthy, freshly ground whole grain flour. I got my Komo grain mill yesterday and I’m so excited!

Ever since I found out how unhealthy regular wheat flour is, I’ve been doing a lot of research about where to find real whole grain flour. It turns out that you can’t buy it in shops; true wholegrain wheat flour must be freshly ground. It just won’t last long enough to sit on a shop shelf unless it is refined. The grain, however can last for decades without any spoilage or loss of nutritional value. So I searched for a way to grind my own flour at home and discovered home kitchen grain mills. These are compact kitchen appliances that grind grains into flour in a matter of minutes; they can be manual or powered by electricity. I saw so many different manufacturers and models online that reading up on all of them made my head spin. Eventually I chose a German-made mill called the Komo Fidibus (medium), ordered from this website. You can watch a video about Komo and their mills here.

IMG_20160429_115715

I chose Komo because of the grinding mechanism and the ease of use. The Komo mill uses corundum/ceramic stones that grind like actual stone but don’t shed grit into the flour. It grinds everything from rice to corn to beans (no oily seeds and nuts though!), at whatever coarseness/fineness you choose. I love how easy it is to use – you put the grain in the hopper on top, flip the switch and out comes the flour. It’s that simple! And it’s self cleaning – good news for my lazy self.

IMG_20160429_122422

To be honest the mill was a bit pricey, but not nearly as pricey as getting sick from eating refined flour. I made the decision to save up and get the mill because I’d rather invest in my health now than spend my hard earned income on diabetes medicine in the future. Plus it’s guaranteed to last at least a decade, so all in all I think it’s a pretty good bargain.

If you’re unable to get a grain mill at home, luckily it’s pretty easy to grind your grain at the market – the same people who grind egusi and ogbono seeds can grind your rice, beans, millet, corn, and so on. Just make sure they clean the machine first!

I baptised my new mill by grinding up some brown basmati rice. Once I had the flour I had to figure out what to do with it, so I came up with the recipe for these delicious 15 minute rice muffins. Don’t you just love healthy, guilt free desserts?

 

 

What you will need

*makes 6 cute little muffins

For the muffins

+ 1 cup brown rice flour

+ 1.5 teaspoon baking powder

+ 2 tablespoons chia seeds (or 2 eggs worth of any egg replacer)

+ 1/4 cup dairy free dark chocolate chips/chunks (I just cut a slab of dark chocolate into small chunks)

+ 1 cup unsweetened plant milk (I used almond)

+ 2 tablespoons maple syrup (to keep this healthy, be sure to use real maple syrup, not maple flavoured syrup. Alternatively use agave nectar, or make your own syrup with unrefined brown sugar and hot water)

For the chocolate syrup

+ 2 teaspoons cocoa powder

+ 1 tablespoon maple syrup

+ 2 tablespoons unsweetened plant milk

 

How to make it

Step 1

Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees celsius.

In a bowl, mix the chia seeds with 4 tablespoons water and let sit for 20 mins to let the gel develop.

In another bowl, combine the rice flour and baking powder thoroughly with a fork.

Step 2

Whisk the plant milk and maple syrup with the chia seeds, then add the mixture to the flour bowl. Mix well to combine, then add the chocolate chips. The consistency should resemble a thick milkshake; it should be pourable but not runny. If too watery, add more flour. If too thick, add more plant milk.

Step 3

Share the mixture evenly into lined muffin/cupcake tins and bake at 180 degrees celsius for 15 minutes. (I always use paper cups to line the tin to make cleanup easier; I don’t have a cupcake tin here though so I just used the paper cups.)

Step 4

To make the chocolate syrup, whisk all ingredients together until lumps disappear. Pour over the muffins and serve immediately. Enjoy!
IMG_1102

IMG_1106

IMG_1107
Into the oven…

IMG_1112

IMG_1114

IMG_1151

IMG_1138

nutrition label
Analysis from Caloriecount.com
Leave a Reply

