Banana oatmeal muffins

feature_captioned

For some reason I woke up on Monday morning thinking about baking and bananas. Obviously the universe wanted me to make banana muffins, lol. As I’m not a fan of white flour, I thought I’d make it with oatmeal instead. (I used this recipe as a guide.) I’m always looking for ways to incorporate oatmeal in recipes because the usual bowl of cooked oats is so boring for me. I absolutely hated oats as a child. I’m yet to test these muffins with kids but I’m confident they would be better received than Quaker oats!

IMG-20151230-WA0016

After I was done making them I opened the fridge to get some coconut-almond milk and noticed my UwaEarthFoods crunchy peanut butter in the fridge. On a whim I decided to try a muffin with peanut butter and it just blew my taste buds away! If you try this recipe you should definitely try the muffins with peanut butter.

I love how these muffins are much more than a sweet treat – they are actually a complete, healthy meal. They’ve got carbohydrates, fibre, healthy fats, protein (in the oats plus more in the peanut butter). You can make them over the weekend and have a couple as a quick breakfast during the week, or put one in a ziplock bag and take to work with you for a healthy snack during the day.

20151230_093936
Banana muffin breakfast with peanut butter and coconut-almond milk

Even if you are not a skilled baker, have no fear. (I’m no baker either.) This is a really easy recipe that you can hardly get wrong. The ingredient list is short, you only need one bowl to mix everything, and baking takes about 30 minutes. If I can do it, you can do it too. So here’s how!

What You Will Need

This makes 6 muffins

+ 3 cups oats, processed into flour (I used whole oats and blended in a food processor until it became a fairly smooth powder)

IMG-20151230-WA0002

+ 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed (flaxseed works great as an egg replacer; 1 tbsp flaxseed = 1 egg. If you’re not able to find flaxseed don’t stress; the muffins will be fine regardless)

+ 3 very ripe bananas

+ 1/3 cup virgin coconut oil or extra-virgin olive oil

+ ¼ cup plant based milk (I used coconut milk)

+ 1 teaspoon baking soda (if you like your muffins light and fluffy, use 2 teaspoons)

+ 1 tablespoon dark brown sugar plus extra for sprinkling on top (optional)

+ ½ tsp salt

+ optional orisirisi: dried coconut / nuts / dried fruit / chocolate chips…let your stomach guide you

How To Make It

1. Blend the bananas and coconut milk into a smooth liquid using a blender or food processor

2. Add 6 tablespoons room temperature water to the ground flaxseed and let sit in the fridge for 10 mins to set

3. Add the flaxseed, oil, salt and sugar (if using) to the blender and pulse a few times to combine

4. In a large bowl mix the oats flour and baking soda together

5. Add the wet ingredients to the bowl and mix with a wooden ladle or large spoon until just combined; do not over-mix. If you’re using add-ins like chocolate chips, etc, add them now. The batter should be thick but still pour-able; the consistency should be between hot amala and pap. If it is too watery, add more ground oats

6. Pour batter into a muffin/cupcake tin (I used paper cups to line the tin like you would with cupcakes – can somebody say easy cleanup?) and sprinkle brown sugar over the muffins

IMG-20151230-WA0001

7. Bake for 30 minutes at medium gas mark. Insert a toothpick into one and if it’s done it should come out dry. When done, take the tin out of the oven and leave to cool

IMG-20151230-WA0003 (1)

Tip:  I put water in an oven-safe tray and placed it in the oven during baking to help keep the muffin tops moist

Enjoy your delicious muffins plain or with a generous helping of peanut butter.

20151230_093946

20151230_094040

 

 

One thought on “Banana oatmeal muffins

Leave a Reply

